2016 Predictions: Land of Hope and Glory

Field becomes lake with haystacks
Field which has become a lake with haystacks

I returned home yesterday from visiting friends abroad. The view of England from the plane was one of waterlogged wheat fields and mossy-looking bog. I took quick snap-shots from the Southern Network train from Gatwick Airport to Southampton Central. It all looked green and glorious with the sun going down. More like April that January.

I have seen a few seasons like this in my time. When people worked hard to pay rent or mortgages and made great efforts to build up their homes, Mother Nature came along and just laughed at them.

In December, farmers that waited to bring in crops for the Christmas tables have suffered, as have field-reared animals such as sheep.

Predictions for 2016: Being a glass half-full person though, I predict a good building industry using new innovative technologies. I predict a good production of crops in Britain later in the year. Lamb and beef will be expensive, but pork and chicken will be cheap and people will try other birds like partridge. People will give locally grown foods their strong support, but there will be a big demand for imported exotic things like bananas, coffee, rice and especially pineapples. Mushrooms will be added to everything, Brussel sprouts will be eaten all year. Salads and chillis will grown in window boxes. British beer and even wine will become a world-wide trend and, of course, there will always be whiskey in the jar-o.

Roads become rivers
Roads have become rivers
Birds enjoying swamped fields
Birds enjoying swamped fields
Abundance of green
Abundance of green with constant water supply
Impossible to plant crops
crops (such as potatoes) will be late
Rivers widen
Boats become the preferred way to travel
Arriving home over the Itchen River, Southampton
Arriving home over the River Itchen Southampton
12 thoughts on “2016 Predictions: Land of Hope and Glory

  1. Your photos are beautiful, but you really got me with the “whiskey in the jar-o.” I’d not thought of that song in ages, and now, having listened to the Dubliners’ version, I realize I still know the lyrics. What I can’t remember is who introducted me to it. It might have been the Kingston Trio, or one of those early 1960s folk groups. In any event, I’m happy to have it running through my head now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your photos have a surreal quality. I like your prédictions. One in particular is interesting because in our local newspaper just a few days ago, there was an article informing us that the Canal du Midi, between Toulouse and Bordeaux is going to be used for trade boats again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So many similar journeys and a few photos from train windows too. The last view over the Itchen is one I know all too well and, on the train, it always feels like coming home when I see it. There is so much water everywhere it’s a wonder this little island doesn’t sink but I’m sure we will all rise again from the ashes. There are daffodils everywhere right now, trying to pretend it’s spring.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

