Broken-legged Bambi

P1140422
After seeing Walt Disney’s Bambi as a child, I spotted the Babycham deer behind the bar while at a working man’s club (not many clubs around like this these days, but they were open for the whole family at weekends). This Babycham deer jumped around on our black & white television sets to advertise its champagne perry just before Christmas. When Santa asked me what I wanted for Christmas – that was it. I never got one, though I did get lots of things, and will always remember the disappointment.

When our youngest daughter was a mere toddler, she saw a sparkly deer ornament on a Christmas tree at a theatre fundraising fete. Her eyes lit up and she pointed to it. The lady-in-charge picked it off the tree and gave it to her. I was filled with so much happiness living the excitement vicariously through her. She thought it was the best thing she had ever owned in the world and it took pride of place on our tree.

Through the years it has had a lot of handling, lots of moving house and drops on the floor. Consequently a leg broke off, as well as its feet. We had to stick it together a few times too and it has lost much of its sparkle, but it still favoured over other more elaborate ornaments.

My daughter showed her disappointed this year, when I informed her that our Christmas tree had grown too big to bring indoors. Then I found a small artificial tree in the loft and decorated it up in her old room where she is staying.

“Broken-legged Bambi!” She exclaimed with excitement. Then suddenly: It was Christmas.

Do any of you have any favourite ornaments that you look forward to seeing at Christmas?  If  you post them please send me a link to the photo. I would love to see them.

pingback (I think it is anyway) https://southamptonoldlady.wordpress.com/2015/12/21/broken-legged-bambi/

 

14 thoughts on “Broken-legged Bambi

  1. For almost 40 years my parents had an angel for the top of the tree. Over the years she lost her wings and her wand (I’m still not sure why she had one) and finally her paper skirt. That was the end of her, sadly.

    We used to go to the Working Men’s Club in Shirley when I was a child, both the old one and the new one. Such dances as I can dance I learned there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your story. Made me a bit weepy actually. And my favorite ornaments? Long before I set out to sea, my entire holiday tree was decorated with nautical motif (guess I got my Christmas wish :-). I gave away most of what I own when I went cruising, so I don’t have the ornaments anymore, but this year, I was given a Dr Who ‘Weeping Angel’ ornament as a gift and LOVE IT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Working men’s clubs started up in the 19th Century. They are meeting halls with bars, where trade and factory workers used to meet often with Union memberships. In the sixties they became more social clubs for the working classes. After the Margaret Thatcher years and joining the European Union, we reverted back to being “a nation of small shop keepers” then factory work such the coal and British Steel Industry declined rapidly. Those clubs left now are mainly used for wedding receptions or hired out by community groups for parties.There’s a lot more on Wikipedia about them.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your story is beautiful. I have none of my childhood Christmas decorations, but I do remember them well. On visiting my sister at the weekend I was thrilled to see that she still has the china angel with paper wings (from our childhood) at the top of her tree.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll bet it brought back lots of Christmas memories?
      Did you see that programme where a restaurant had special glass-blown Cool Britainia-style tree ornaments made – over £1,000 each one? I have just been given a few that probably only cost a few quid each: a Corgi-dog wearing some Crown jewels and a telephone box.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

