Southampton Old Lady: Self Portrait

My DNA taken for Cancer Research UK
My DNA taken for Cancer Research UK

More about Cancer and DNA on an early post: https://southamptonoldlady.wordpress.com/2015/06/17/cancer-research-at-southampton-university/

I suppose this self portrait, like my name, is quite anonymous. I am quite an ordinary person so why the mystery?

I place great value on my privacy. More and more it is being taken away and what I have left is precious. Please do not be offended when I won’t give my email – mobile phone number (it is off most of the time). I don’t want a chat or a reminder while I watch a film; eat a meal, am out on a walk. I get annoyed during a lovely conversation when interrupted by another on the end of a phone. I am just old fashioned and not one for selfies.

In my past I have been stalked, attacked, had my identity stolen, been near to death. I am left untrusting. But I am also friendly and have good friends. I worry too much about others – I don’t want to offend while seeking truth and stating what is. If I am invisible, I can be myself. I can speak my mind – can write what I like openly. This is me!

This post was inspired by Strata of the Self – If you like self-portraits you need to visit: https://strataoftheself.wordpress.com

17 thoughts on “Southampton Old Lady: Self Portrait

  1. That’s the stance I used to take, but now I have books to sell and I want my name to be everywhere. I have given up a lot of my privacy, but you’re right about not being able to speak your mind. I censor myself all the time. If you knew me in the flesh, you’d know how hard it is for me to do that. I worked for 6 months in Germany where they are famously blunt and my colleagues were impressed at how well I fitted in. They thought they had corrupted me, not realising how un-English I am in that regard.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are correct. Fame, desired or not, brings unique problems. One of my close friends, who is Norwegian, keeps being told by English people hold how rude she is, but I know she is not – she comes from a culture where people say what is what – it is probably why we get on so well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Illness takes your privacy. I speak from experience.People can’t understand why I cherish my privacy now. As a friend of mine pointed out to me–you may go into remission (not cancer) but your life will never be the same as it was before the illness. She was so right.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I was unaware of your illness Frankie. But yes it does change us for ever. But just lately I have been reclaiming some of my old self back again. Glad so many others like their privacy – thought I was a rarity until you all let me know.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m very protective of my privacy too, but had no option but to go public when I had a novel published. I had to supply a photo and a biographical note for the inside cover, plus a photo for the publisher’s website and a bit more about me for their publicity material. Fortunately, the journalists who interviewed me around that time were interested in the novel and the writing process rather than me as a person, so the experience wasn’t too dire.

    I also discovered that I was OK with promoting a product which, once the contract was signed, I saw as belonging to the publisher rather than me!

    I suspect a lot of this is both a cultural and a generational thing. I was brought up to believe that talking about yourself was a no-no, so I still find opening up to any but my closest friends a challenge. When I set up a blog I intended to stay totally anonymous, but got questions about myself and the blog, so I’ve opened up a little more.

    Interestingly, I’ve noticed that a lot of bloggers (including me) describe themselves as introverts and offer each other encouragement. So here we are, regularly doing stuff in public but staying as private as we can. It’s a challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really resonate with this post and also with Frankie Beane’s comment. Illness robs us of so many things, but especially privacy. I don’t have cancer, but I do have a chronic illness. I find myself growing depressed on the days I need to pick up prescriptions and most especially on days of doctor’s visits. Lack of privacy could very well be a component that adds to that feeling. I completely understand the real need for privacy. We would not do well with fame, would we?

    I don’t do selfies, either. I have a difficult time wrapping my head around this phenomenon. There are so many other subjects!

    All that being said, I did check out Strata of the Self and what a wonderful blog. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your comments Intricate Knot. I have connected with so many wonderful like-minded plus creative people since I started my blogging in May – it has become so addictive and rewarding. Originally I just want to post pictures of Southampton. Posts like’ Strata of the Self’ are wonderful examples of how new art forms develop as technology and communication does.

      Liked by 1 person

    • You really wear your heart on your sleeve in your poetry – one of the reasons (as well as being wonderful with words) that it is so popular. So prolific too. I have a week’s backlog of your poems to read when I get a quiet moment. It is lovely how you find the energy to reply to all your fans.

      Like

  5. Hi! As I was just checking out your blog I realized we have some similarities. Very private (for the same reasons as above), in a war with cancer, and I’m not a young chick anymore. Thanks for reading and liking one of my posts. I appreciate it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

